clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

One Creepy Building Remains of Harlem's Insane Asylum

New, 6 comments

Getting into the Halloween spirit, Scouting NY's Nick Carr was up at Columbia University and decided to delve into the history of the Bloomingdale Insane Asylum, New York's first mental hospital, which, from 1821 to 1892, occupied a 38-acre stretch of farmland between 120th and 112th streets. After the majority of the property was purchased by Columbia for $2 million, buildings began to be replaced. Today, all that remains of the asylum is the former Macy Villa, a three-story brick building with a gabled roof. Built in 1885, it was the last building to be constructed for the asylum, intended for wealthy male patients. The structure is currently known as Buell Hall, and is used by the University and houses parts of the French and architecture departments.

· Searching For The Remains of Manhattan's Bloomingdale Insane Asylum [Scouting NY]
· All Scouting NY coverage [Curbed]